CFAB/ICAEW Programme

Printer-friendly versionSend to friend

The ACA exam structure

The ACA comprises two stages - the Professional Stage and the Advanced Stage.

Professional Stage modules

The Professional Stage consists of knowledge modules which introduce you to the core concepts underpinning accountancy, and the application modules where you can demonstrate how you can develop and apply technical knowledge and skills.

Advanced Stage modules

The Advanced Stage is where the ACA demonstrates its world-leading quality. The modules will stretch you to adopt a multi-disciplinary approach and prove that you can use judgment as well as technical and analytical skills.

The Case Study, which is based on a Harvard Business School model, will test your professional skills in the context of a specific business issue and challenge you on multiple areas of the syllabus.

Credit for prior learning

If you have an accounting or business-related degree or a professional qualification, you may apply for credit/exemption against an ICAEW exam module.

Please visit for more information on credit/exemption arrangements.

Exam Modules

The diagram below shows the ICAEW exam modules and progression route to becoming an ACA.

Click on diagram for larger version

ICAEW Pathway

Click on diagram for larger version